A domain steeped in history
On the borders of the Comognes of Flawinne, lies the Domaine “Les IV Seigneurs”

A name of legends
Many stories still revolve around the Domain’s name.
The name could come from a forest included in the Domain, called “Bois des Quatre Seigneurs” (Forest of the Four Lords).
It is also said that in 1692, during the League of Augsburg war, Louis XIV established his quarters on our heights to attend the siege of Namur and its Citadel, along with his Marshals Boufflers and Vauban.
In 1695, the lieutenant general of William of Orange’s army also set up his quarters here to take back the city from the French. The name “IV Seigneurs” would thus come from the French officers stationed on our plains.
This name could also come from the song of the four Aymon sons: Aalard, Renaud, Guichard and Richard.
Although the name’s true origin and the exact date of the castle’s construction, its outbuildings and the farm are unknown, we know that the whole estate was extended at the end of the 19th century.
A wine project that brings together two generations
In the 2000s, as a precursor, Geoffroy B., Virginie de Paul’s uncle, looking to diversify his farmland, had the idea of setting up vineyards on the most suitable hillsides. He contacted a regional wine specialist who was very enthusiastic about diversification.
However, as he had no economic references in the region, the project was considered too avant-garde at the time. It was never realized.
In 2020, when Virginie and Geoffroy de Paul settled on the property, they decided to take up this project with the experience of other “Namurois”.

Discover our primeurs
Support the development of our project, revealing the beauty of our land!